U.S. Courts of Appeals

Court of Appeals (Districts Included in Circuit) Number of Authorized Judgeships Location and Postal Address
Federal Circuit United States


Washington, D.C. 20439
District of Columbia Circuit District of Columbia 12 Washington, D. C. 20001
First Circuit Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Puerto Rico 6 Boston, MA 02109
Second Circuit Connecticut, New York, and Vermont 13 New York, NY 10007
Third Circuit Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and the Virgin Islands 14 Philadelphia, PA 19106
Fourth Circuit Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia 15 Richmond, VA 23219
Fifth Circuit Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas 17 New Orleans, LA 70130
Sixth Circuit Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee 16 Cincinnati, OH 45202
Seventh Circuit Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin 11 Chicago, IL 60604
Eighth Circuit Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota 11 St. Louis, MO 63101
Ninth Circuit Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands 28 San Francisco, CA 94101
Tenth Circuit Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming 12 Denver, CO 80294
Eleventh Circuit Alabama, Florida, and Georgia 12 Atlanta, GA 30303